• 06 Apr 2018

    New URBACT transfer networks to boost Covenant cities' energy and climate action

    On the 4th of April, 25 new transfer networks between European cities were approved by the URBACT programme, the European Territorial Cooperation programme aiming to foster sustainable integrated urban development in cities across Europe.

    urbact logo baselineunder site 255x89URBACT is a highly successful instrument of EU Cohesion Policy, co-financed by the European Regional Development Fund, the 28 Member States, Norway and Switzerland. It has existed since 15 years already and wants to enable cities to work together and develop integrated solutions to common urban challenges, by networking, learning from one another’s experiences, drawing lessons and identifying good practices to improve urban policies.

    The 25 new transfer networks established by URBACT gather 75 European cities in 20 different countries. Over one third of the cities involved in these networks are newcomers to the URBACT programme. Each network, composed initially of 3 cities, is starting a first working phase of 6 months during which it is granted resources to extend the partnership by identifying relevant partners, develop a common understanding of the good practice it wants to transfer, explore the conditions and requirements for a successful transfer in the local context, and the definition of the methodology for transfer activities. The Transfer Networks can be made up of 5-8 partners in total

    Many European Covenant cities are already part of the new URBACT transfer networks, and will use their participation to boost their local energy and climate action in different ways - see here some examples:

    European cities that are not yet part of these networks but are interested in joining, can do soon through URBACT - follow their website to stay updated!